13 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

8 Foot Sativa - The Shadow Masters Single Review

05 Aug 2013 // A review by mciver29

I admit I had been slack picking up the new 8 Foot Sativa tracks, I had seen all the online posts but was skeptical that maybe they had seen their best days after all the line up changes over the years, The Shadow Masters put those worries to rest quickly.

With original frontman Jackhammer and Brent Fox (bass and formerly of Sinate) back in the band and with the addition of a new lead guitarist (Nik Davies) 8 Foot is back at what they do best ~ in your face, aggressive metal with plenty to prove.

The Shadow Masters is the 2nd track to be released on line from the forthcoming album of the same name.

From the opening of the track the presence of Davies (lead guitar) is made clear by his tasteful melodic lead work and Jackhammer's raw guttural scream is welcomed back after a long break from the band. As to be expected the production is as good as any international band of the same genre but rather than going abroad to achieve this (as they did on previous efforts) they set up camp in Christchurch to record with UK based kiwi engineer Clint Murphy.

Both the musicians and Murphy have produced something very worth while here and is a great reintroduction to old fans of the band that should equally win them many more over.

About 8 Foot Sativa

Exploding out of West Auckland in 1998, 8 Foot Sativa have gone from being a local band playing every week, to becoming the premier Metal band in New Zealand.

They are the first metal band in NZ to crack out of the small scene and bring New Zealand Heavy Metal to mainstream Kiwi's doorsteps, with the song 8 Foot Sativa staying at number 1 for three months and eight months in the charts. They have also had success overseas, in Australia, USA and Europe. With their first album Hate Made Me achieving Gold Record status, the follow up with Season for Assault, which established 8 Foot Sativa as a household name. Since then they have released 4 more albums Breed The Pain, Poison Of Ages, The Shadow Masters and 10 Years Of Sativa.

8 Foot Sativa have played with the big names of metal including Pantera, Motorhead, Korn, Children of Bodom, Disturbed, Soul Fly, Shihad and Corrosion of Conformity. They have had 2 Big Day Out appearances on the main stage, sharing the stage with Slipknot, Metallica and System of a Down.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 8 Foot Sativa

Releases

10 Years of Sativa
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Shadow Masters
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Poison Of Ages
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Breed The Pain
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Season For Assault
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Hate Made Me
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
EP Review: Simon Hirst - Shining in Silver
08 Dec 2015 // by mciver29
New from Hamilton-based singer/songwriter Simon Hirst is the 4 track EP titled Shining In Silver. At first glance you could be forgiven for expecting a very Ed Sheeran type release by the look of his Facebook page, showing that he uses loopers when performing solo and shows a similar look to Sheeran.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem