13 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

PCP Eagles - I Hate The Mall EP Review

24 May 2013 // A review by Miss_Jukebox

Calling all PURE punk rockers, the REAL DEAL has arrived. Finally a genuine punk band stomps onto the scene ready to rumble against, well, probably anything that gets in their way. They are the PCP Eagles and they have released their debut EP I Hate The Mall.

This is an EP for anyone who ever bought any of the Punk-O-Rama compilations. It is simple punk rock. It hits every rebellious tone associated with the genre; the angst-filled lyrics, the gravelly vocals, driving electric guitars, the bass guitar foundation and the swift drumming. PCP Eagles stick to the formula that made bands like Rancid and NoFX such huge successes, still loved by dedicated fans.

Once a punk rocker, always a punk rocker.

The songs on the EP range from their own anthem, which will have crowds chanting their name, to Taumarunui Hates The Kids. This 7-track EP is just a lightning rod of punk goodness. This fleeting burst of songs do justice to such an iconic genre of music, and hopefully is a sign of a real resurgence of punk rock.

In the state the world is in right now, PCP Eagles might be the shot in the arm we need.

-Janise

Releases

I Hate The Mall
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Miss_Jukebox

Lucas O'Connell - Songs to Sleep On Album Review
10 Nov 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Music voyager Lucas O’Connell has released a beautiful debut album, Songs to Sleep On that encapsulates his skills to meaningfully personify all that is around him. The album was recorded primarily in Wellington’s Surgery Studios under the guidance of his main studio engineer Dr.
Read More...
Little Lapin EP Review
09 Jul 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
One look into her bright eyes, Little Lapin will have you mesmerised. Auckland-based Lucy Cioffi in her musical alter-ego Little Lapin has finally released her self-titled debut EP.
Read More...
Sarah Conlan Singles Review
25 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Sarah Conlan, a young country singer/songwriter is part of a country music resurgence happening before our eyes. I always thought of country music as a self-contained genre.
Read More...
Amos/Anon - Thanatos Album Review
24 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
The initial guitar strings are like wind chimes hanging on the front porch. When the bass guitar steps in the big brass door opens and you enter into the world of Thanatos, the latest album from the shadow king, Amos/Anon.
Read More...
Cosmic Road Trip Vol.3 Album Review
29 Apr 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
The mission statement was simple; a collection of the best local tracks to celebrate a beautiful summer of 2013. Cosmic have searched far and wide to collate the best songs to set the mood for Volume 3 of their Road Trip series.
Read More...
Nathan Haines - Vermillion Skies Album Review
24 Mar 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
On a road of passionate red, the gorgeous and the ever-elegant saxophone dazzles and electrifies the room with a musical charge. This is the weapon of love for Nathan Haines.
Read More...
At Peace - Girl Songs EP Review
02 Mar 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Love in all its varieties; we all have had our unique experiences of love. From the Young Gifted & Broke movement the hip-hop group @Peace, consisting of Home Brew’s Tom Scott and Lui Tuiasau, have released an EP all about the ‘L’ word.
Read More...
Amos/Anon - Songs of a Tortured Soul EP Review
02 Feb 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Songs of a Tortured Soul is a demonstration of courage in progress. The latest EP from gothic artists [Amos/Anon] is to date their most heartfelt release.
Read More...
View All Articles By Miss_Jukebox

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem