19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Killing Bear - The Vine of Souls Album Review

16 Feb 2013 // A review by Alistar3000

Having seen Wellington two-piece Killing Bear perform a few months ago I was looking forward to checking out their newly released second album. Live they came across as dark bluesy rock, at times almost touching on folk, but with this driving drumming that propelled the music along. It was a sound very suited to a live environment and I was interested to see how that would translate to a recording.

It turns out that it works very well. The sound was a lot fuller than I remember from their live performance (which consisted of guitar and drums) - the opportunity to boost the depth of the sound in the studio paid off, with the songs sounding richer and larger. The bluesy sound is still evident, but there's even more energy in the delivery, with grooves that weren't obvious when I saw them live now very much a part of the music.

The band come across at times like a laid back Primus, particularly on the opening tracks, the two-part Owl and the Antelope, and later in the album have songs that sound similar to Eagles of Death Metal, with a fast, poppy, but raw rock sound (Network and Kill Frenzy are good examples of the sound). Throughout the album there are little interludes, either short tunes, or a continuing story of the adventures of Killing Bear; a tale that ends up seeming like some sort of Kiwi martial arts movie. The interludes never seem out of place and add cohesiveness to the album.

For a band that impressed me live, Killing Bear have gone one up with the album, crafting a collection of tunes that sit together well as an album, while managing to explore their sound and take it beyond what they can achieve live. I've listened to it a lot since I got it, and expect that I'll be listening to it a lot more this year.

The Vine Of Souls
View Track Listing

About Killing Bear

In the far distant future a mystical tribe on Mars use their psychic powers to travel back in time. They possessed the minds of a band of musicians with the aim to utilise their partytastic powers to correct the undoings of the past.

Armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars the band was then able to transcend the barriers of space-time. With the power of music they travelled back a millennia and stopped a devastating event in our history. This event now never occurred because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened. Now in 2016 the next catastrophic event is just around the corner and we need you to party hard to help stop it from ever happening.

Killing Bear! Psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Killing Bear

Releases

Killing Bear
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Vine Of Souls
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rebirth
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Wild Beasts
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem