24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Neo-Kalashnikovs - She's On Heat Review

19 Sep 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

It's a difficult task trying to describe the Neo-Kalashnikovs, both in terms of a band and their musical output. You could try pinning them to a location, but with the band split between Auckland and California, they're not tied to the musical culture of either place. They're also a two-piece who have recorded their album as a three piece. And to top it all off their sound is at once warm and inviting, while somehow managing to also be rough and melancholy.

The sum of all those parts has resulted in their debut She’s On Heat, and what a debut it is. From the laid back '70s influenced tones of opener Diamonds, to the poppy alt-rock of Shining Star, right through to the final notes of album closer To Russia, this here is nine tracks of real, honest rock. You can feel the passion and honesty this duo/trio has for their music in every fuzzy blues-laden guitar riff, and every pounding drum beat.

It's music that draws on a wide range of influences, notably the raw sounds of the early '90s (The Pixies, Nirvana) but also touches on the blues (think the Checks with attitude), and heads right back to '70s rock and soul (Paul Weller, the MC5). Despite this, or perhaps because of it, the music maintains integrity and rarely feels derivative - these are musical reference points, not elements the band has ripped off.

If you're after music with heart, and guitar driven rock is your thing, then She’s On Heat should be in your collection.

About The Neo-Kalashnikovs

Roaring onto the rock music scene with an earful of sound and a mouthful of a name, the Neo-Kalashnikovs are poised for world domination. The Neos made up of three seriously rock n roll siblings are the face of a new, desperately hip breed of Neo-grunge band that are calling for a rebirth in an industry that is in dire need of new rock music.

Influenced by other contemporary artists such as Cage the Elephant, The Black Keys, Kings of Leon, Band of Skulls, Ariel Pink and Ed Sheeran, the Neos' sound is aimed at the future. Their fresh single 'Diamonds' showcases a gutsy band with smooth aesthetics, a wonderfully fun-loving attitude, and a strict rock revolutionary ethos.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Neo-Kalashnikovs

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Neo-Kalashnikovs.

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem