27 Jul 2014
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Horror Story @ The Royal 18/08/12

02 Sep 2012 // A review by terry666

What can I say about horror punk maestros Horror Story? Well for starters I love this band. They always put on a great live show and expect the unexpected. I had heard that this could possibly be their last swamp show so was quite sad about that but knew this was one show I did not want to miss and I pray that this wasnít the last time I will see them. The band had also announced that because this was going to be a special show they were bringing their old drummer Craig Psycho back for the first half of the set so I was pretty excited about the whole event.

Last time they played Palmy they didnít have the ghoul paint and I was a little let down by that but this time they came prepared. Sorry but in my opinion thatís part of what I like about them is the paint, the cloths and of course the death lock made famous by the Misfits whom incidentally they opened for on a tour of New Zealand some years ago.

The first half of their set was a walk through material of the past playing classics like Return of the living dead, Angelique and Devil girl from mars. Craig Psycho was on drums for most of the set before they bought out their new drummer Jackal Mayhem playing some tracks off their new album ďThis Graveyard EarthĒ. As usual with Horror Story you have to expect the unexpected and when the new drummer got tired they were about to leave the stage. Thanks to a quick thinking crowd member he put up his hand and said he would do a song with them and we got Angelique all over again was brilliant and something I donít think you would see too often. With three drummers in one set that has got to be pushing for a record somewhere.

It was with great sadness they left the stage but there was still a twinkle in my eye and a smile on my face having enjoyed one of New Zealandís great hidden talents. With a huge back catalogue this is a band all lovers of loud music should track down and listen to and even better get to a show if you get the chance because itís an experience you wonít forget. If you missed them you really missed out on a treat. They are also bloody generous buggers too giving their latest album away for free on the interweb at http://www.horror-punks.com/.

Share on MySpace  

About Horror Story

In Jan 2000 AD members of New Zealand Punk/Metal bands Nefarious, Valhalla Crossroads, 1080 and Horror Business stitched together their ultimate Rock n Roll Monster! They called it Horror Story. Instantly becoming New Zealands premier Horror Punk band!

On Halloween that year the band recorded a 17 song Demo called 'Monsterpiece' which was released in 2001 by the bands Demon Nation label. A limited edition of 1000 copies were snapped up by horror-hungry fiends! The albums warewolf sing-along '13 Moons' also featured on Auckland label Puppykiller Records - 'Pick of the Litter' Compilation album.

For Halloween 2002 the band (Complete with new Rhythm section) Recorded 10 new songs and re-recorded 10 songs from 'Monsterpiece' Combined with a video for 'Tombstone' (made in a local graveyard) and a full colour portrait of the band on its cover 'Graverobbers From Outer Space' was released on Halloween 2003 by Demon Nation.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Horror Story

Releases

This Graveyard Earth
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Frankenskull AD
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Songs From The Devil's Jukebox
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Sons of Hell Island
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Bride Of The Monster
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Rock n Roll Frankenstein
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Graverobbers From Outer Space
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Making A Monster Horror
Year: 2002
Type: EP
Monsterpiece
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Jim Beam Homegrown 2014 Highlights
03 Mar 2014 // by terry666
Jim Beam Homegrown February 15th, Wellington Waterfront I love Homegrown. Where else can you get to see such a brilliant array of New Zealandís finest musical talent?
Read More...
Fallen Order - The Age of Kings EP Review
27 Feb 2014 // by terry666
From the opening stanza this EP takes off like a bullet. Classic British metal in sound the first bands that come to mind are Iron Maiden and Judas Priest.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2014 Review
31 Jan 2014 // by terry666
Big Day Out 2014 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 17/01/2014 It was with some trepidation I headed to Western Springs to check out the new venue for the Big Day Out 2014. I have been to about 6 previous Big Day Out's and Western Springs is a quite a different venue than Mt Smart.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ James Cabaret, Wellington - 10/10/13
27 Oct 2013 // by terry666
Blacklistt, as most will know were known previously as Blindspott. I have seen Blindspott heaps of times around the country and always loved their show.
Read More...
8 Foot Sativa @ Stellar, Wanganui - 4/10/13
25 Oct 2013 // by terry666
I have been extremely lucky and seen 8 Foot Sativa lots of time in the last year in the build up to the release of the new album The Shadow Masters. I was very excited about heading over to Wanganui to see the guys play.
Read More...
Blacklistt Album Review
14 Oct 2013 // by terry666
There are two Kiwi albums that I have been waiting for this year with baited breath. The first one was The Shadow Masters from 8 Foot Sativa and this one from Blacklistt.
Read More...
Prowler - Enter The Night Album Review
19 Sep 2013 // by terry666
I donít know a hell of a lot about punk rock music as Iím more of a metal head than anything else but one of the things that I do like about a good punk rock band is the energy that they have. Prowler are full of energy and the album kicks off with the title track Enter The Night that sets the pace up perfectly.
Read More...
8 Foot Sativa - The Shadow Masters Album Review
04 Sep 2013 // by terry666
8 Foot Sativa came onto the NZ metal scene just over 10 years ago and gave it an injection which spread like wildfire and inspired thousands of young metal heads to pick up instruments and bang their heads. Kiwi metal heads had their Kings and knew that 8 Foot were the ones to make Kiwi metal an international brand.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLURRED LINES
    Robin Thicke feat. TI And Pharrell
  • ROYALS
    Lorde
  • JUST GIVE ME A REASON
    Pink feat. Nate Ruess
  • ROAR
    Katy Perry
  • IMPOSSIBLE
    James Arthur
  • LET HER GO
    Passenger
  • RADIOACTIVE
    Imagine Dragons
  • WAKE ME UP
    Avicii
  • GET LUCKY
    Daft Punk feat. Pharrell
  • WHEN I WAS YOUR MAN
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem