31 May 2015
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
New Zealand Music Month 2015

Heathen Eyes - Ocea single review

19 Aug 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

Auckland’s Heathen Eyes have just released their second “official” single - having previously recorded a number of demos with their original line up they now seem to be slowly releasing singles. Ocea is a plea to save our oceans, although it doesn’t sound like your typical environmental ballad.

Instead what you get is over 4 minutes of ‘90s influenced alternative rock, with a lot of melody and driving rhythm. Those melodies come courtesy of front man Jason McIvor, who is responsible for guitar, bass and vocals on the recording, due to line up changes the band was undergoing at the time. Malcolm Blake provides the beats, doing a fine job of keeping the song moving along.

The two-piece have crafted a catchy song here, knowing when to build it up and when to pull back and let the vocals soar, making the song ebb and flow organically – almost like the rhythms of the ocean that influenced the song.

With a few more songs like these under the belt, and once they have the new line up sorted out, Heathen Eyes are going to be a band to keep an eye on in the local rock scene.

About Heathen Eyes

Heathen Eyes formed in Auckland, 2010.
Their first single, Ocea was regularly featured on The Rock FM during 2012 and was included on the Blunt Magazine CD sampler distributed throughout Australia.

Heathen Eyes have just released the second single of their up coming release titled You're Gonna Need A God to a great response.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Heathen Eyes

Releases

There are no releases to display for Heathen Eyes.

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
The Lowest Fidelity - Love Is For Others Album Review
07 Mar 2014 // by Alistar3000
There are three assumptions you'll need to dispel before listening to Will Saunders and the Lowest Fidelity's latest release Love Is For Others. The first is that the Low Fidelity is a band (or at least that they're a band on the recording - there is a live band); Will performs as a solo artist.
Read More...
The Shakedown - Next Movement EP review
10 Feb 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington’s The Shakedown seem to have only been around a short while (or at least since March last year) but have already made a bit of a name for themselves through their live shows and a couple of singles. Next Movement is their first release and is 5 tracks of pretty sweet sounding reggae-laden funk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SEE YOU AGAIN
    Wiz Khalifa feat. Charlie Puth
  • KING AND QUEEN
    Beau Monga
  • LEAN ON
    Major Lazer feat. M0 And DJ Snake
  • BAD BLOOD
    Taylor Swift feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • WANT TO WANT ME
    Jason DeRulo
  • MARVIN GAYE
    Charlie Puth feat. Meghan Trainor
  • WHITE LINES
    Six60
  • DO YOU REMEMBER
    Jarryd James
  • HEY MAMA
    David Guetta feat. Nicki Minaj And Afrojack
  • FLASHLIGHT
    Jessie J
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem