19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gatherer - Live @ Medusa, Wellington 22 June 2012

28 Jun 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

Medusa in Wellington has a bit of a reputation for putting on interesting nights and Friday was no exception. Kicking off the night was local band Spook The Horses, whose album Brighter was one of my favourite New Zealand releases of the past year. These heavy hitters don't seem to play much, but when they do it's always high energy and intense. Despite some technical issues hampering their set, they played well and impressed the full house. If you're from Welly then they are definitely worth catching next time they play.

Having Auckland band Cobra Khan on the bill next was a real treat. They rock a fast punk-influenced metal style, and with keyboards heavily in the mix at times reminded me of early Killing Joke. They're also incredibly loud, with several people commenting on the level of noise this five piece was throwing out. This was my first time experiencing the band and I'm hoping it won't be the last. They've got an impressive sound and some great tunes, that while heavy, lend themselves to dancing. If you can't get out to see them, try their new album Helgorithms, which is getting rave reviews from everyone who's heard it.

Former Wellingtonians, and current Melbournians, Gatherer headlined as part of their album release tour. Some in the crowd might have recognised the band, as they last played here as This City Sunrise before making the move to Australia. With that move came a name change and a sonic move too. Gatherer are less heavy, far poppier and use a lot more vocal harmony that This City Sunrise.

What hasn't changed is the level of musicianship they display.This was my second time seeing the band during this tour and both times I was blown away by their sound, their songs and their energy on stage.

They definitely seem to enjoy what they do and give it their all. The crowd had thinned out by the time they started (about 12.30, with the band commenting that they'd forgotten how late gigs started in Wellington, and how great it was that people were prepared to stay out until 1.30 to see a band). This seemed to be just fine with everyone who stayed because it left more room to move when the band started up. And the music definitely inspired people to get moving.

A couple of newer tracks were tried out but for the most part we got to hear a lot of tunes from the album (So Be It). The album has been on pretty high repeat for me for the last couple of weeks, so it was good to hear some now familiar songs played live, and played well at that.

The move to Melbourne seems to have worked well for Gatherer, with a lot of support from other bands, and numerous support slots with touring acts. Hopefully that support translates into a long career, because it'd be great to see them back here again in the future.

About Gatherer

The first track from their debut full length album called So Be It, Regular Frontier establishes the Gatherer proclamation in honest clarity: growing up is a bit shit. Relocations are never easy, especially with a body of water separating the comforts of their home town Wellington, New Zealand to the reality of independence and opportunity offered in Melbourne, Australia. It was never going to be a relaxed transition, but it was imperative for the band to move into their next phase of existence.

On So Be It, Gatherer has drawn on a combination of life experiences and influences, cohesively blending the pop sensibilities of Nine Inch Nails, the genuine melodic rock of Cave-In and a hint of Converge/Isis inspired heaviness with the vocal rhythms and melody of Queen and Tears For Fears.

A wall of syncopated sound, coupled with strikingly unconventional rhythm, dynamics and harmonies take the Gatherer sound to a complete original aural spectrum. This, along with an honest approach to lyrical content, completes the Gatherer package.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gatherer

Releases

Heavy Hail
Year: 2015
Type: Album
So Be It
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Regular Frontier
Year: 2011
Type: EP
This City Sunrise
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem