1 Nov 2014
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tomorrow People - One Album Review

16 May 2012 // A review by Asmith

From the very first song I was taken back down memory lane to my childhood growing up listening to The Wailers, UB40, Herbs, and Bob Marley.

But there’s something else going on here, something very different and very fresh that you don’t get with that old school reggae sound.

There’s a very big island influence in this sound, and a bunch of synth thrown in for good measure.

It’s pouring down outside but I feel like I’ve been transported to a beach with a beer and a “smoke” in hand, their self described “sunshine reggae with an island breeze” could not be more on the mark.

The soulful vocals rain heavy throughout, with a range of both vocal styles and vocalists and a lot of lyrical references to the reggae of old that we all grew up listening to.

Halfway through the album I’ve found it easy to see how Tomorrow People have managed to play the likes of Raggamuffin and Exodus festivals, and I can see a lot more on the horizon.

If you love that reggae skank or just need something to get you away from the bad weather in your life I highly suggest this new breed of NZ reggae, IRIE!

About Tomorrow People

"New Zealand is flush with reggae bands of all descriptions, including many young ones vying for an audience and a record deal. But it's Wellington's Tomorrow People - named after the song by Bob Marley's son Ziggy - that's been the biggest success story of 2012." - Tom Cardy, The Dominion Post, NZ

Out of the 100+ reggae bands currently active in NZ, not one of them has moved up the ranks faster than Wellington band TOMORROW PEOPLE. From the garage to playing NZ’s Premier Reggae Festival ‘Raggamuffin’ and ‘A’ rotation on radio within a year, the band has gone from strength to strength showing no signs of slowing down.

A studio project turned live stage show, the eight-piece band are purveyors of what they describe as ‘sunshine reggae’. Focused on providing a mid-tempo sound that, while clearly reggae-centric, adds touches of dancehall ragga to its colour. It is a sound built around strong vocals, soothing harmonies, catchy hooks, aggressive ragga raps, and feel good riddims (rhythms).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tomorrow People

Releases

One.5
Year: 2013
Type: EP
One
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Asmith

Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Louis Baker EP Review
24 Mar 2014 // by Asmith
Having never heard of Louis Baker before I was given this review I was unsure what to expect.This wasn't a bad thing though- have you ever heard an artist for the first time and just sat there going, wow, this is cool.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Eclipse - Pink Floyd Tribute Band @ Stonehenge 01/02/2014
16 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
Let me just start of by stating there are simply not enough words in the english language to adequately describe how amazing this show was, but I will do my best. We pulled into the parking area to be guided with precision into our space, then jumped in in the que with the other 2500 people who had come to this event and made our way in surprisingly fast.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THINKING OUT LOUD
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHAKE IT OFF
    Taylor Swift
  • ALL ABOUT THAT BASS
    Meghan Trainor
  • NEW THANG
    Redfoo
  • SLINGS AND ARROWS
    Fat Freddy's Drop
  • WELCOME TO NEW YORK
    Taylor Swift
  • OUT OF THE WOODS
    Taylor Swift
  • I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE
    Sam Smith
  • BANG BANG
    Jessie J, Ariana Grande And Nicki Minaj
  • ONLY LOVE CAN HURT LIKE THIS
    Paloma Faith
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem