24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Capital Punishment @ Bar Medusa, Wellington 12/05/2012

15 May 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

Medusa in Wellington has been a proud supporter of local metal since day one, continuing a long tradition of bars in that site. 2012 saw the third year of their Capital Punishment festivals, featuring 12 hours of the best of New Zealand (and Australian) metal.

Organising 12 bands, getting them to play on schedule and managing everything else that goes with a live music venue and bar is no easy task, but the team at Medusa had it running like clockwork; this was the first gig, let alone festival, that I can recall sticking so tightly to the advertised times.

The show kicked off at 3 in the afternoon and by the time I arrived a couple of hours later (unfortunately missing Rising Force and Scaphist) there was already a healthy crowd in attendance, lapping up the raw intensity of Elephant of the Ocean.  From there on the crowd just kept growing, with a steady stream of metal fans from all over the country turning up to witness the best display of metal we've seen in a long time.

The next few hours seemed to pass in a blur of exceptional metal, friendly faces and general good times. Bulletbelt smashed out a brutal set of harsh black metal with a punk twist; Molest the Episcopate enthralled with their anti-religion fuelled hardcore; Shakahn played a particularly tight set, that featured a more relaxed sound, yet were still heavy enough to please the old fans; New Way Home impressed with their melodic sound; Subtract blew the crowd away with their huge sound.

As midnight approached Australian crew Fear The Setting Sun lifted the energy levels further, setting the scene for the final bands, In Dread Response, Machete Justice, and closing the night veterans of the local metal scene, Human.

It's hard to pick the highlights from such a strong showing, but the crowd favourites were definitely Shakahn, who were performing with their original lineup for the first time in years. During their short and intense set it was easy to see why they've always had such a strong following in Wellington, with the band seeming to enjoy playing for the audience as much as we enjoyed listening to it. Their set had the crowd slamming into each other, jumping about like crazy and up on stage. It’s been a long time since these lads last played together and they showed that they haven’t been mucking about during their time off.

Only a hardy few made it through the full 12 hours, but everyone who turned up to pack out the bar seemed to have a great time. Old friends were found, new friends made, and an awesome night of metal was had by all. Thanks to Medusa for supporting the local metal scene, and hopefully we'll get to see Capital Punishment back next year, bigger and louder than ever.

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem