19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Module - Imagineering Album Review

22 Mar 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

Imagineering is the first proper album from Module (aka Wellington – via Canada – musician Jeremiah Ross) since 2005's Remarkable Engines; that’s not to say Module has been idle in the past 6 years – there’s been the 70+ minute, single track Dreams For The Sleepless, and a live album released to keep us, and Module, occupied. Those releases haven’t seemed to garner the attention that Remarkable Engines did though, which is a shame as it’s seen Module sort of disappear from our musical landscape (or perhaps just mine).

Imagineering has a somewhat darker sound, and is more introspective than the previous album, but is a much mellower listen at the same time, and should be as successful, if not more so, than its predecessor.

It still sounds distinctly like Module though and is an instantly likeable album, full of beeps and blips and quirky samples, and intriguing rhythms and sonic layering that will start to mess with your mind.

The album is mostly laid back and the tempo doesn't really pick up until towards the end of the album with the penultimate track, Endlessly Ocean, being as close to a return to the funkier form of Remarkable Engines as we’ll get from this release.

It’s not often that the title of an album fits the tone so perfectly but Imagineering is the ideal soundtrack to your daydreams.

Imagineering
View Track Listing

About Module

Jeremiah Ross’ alias Module was created in 2003 as a solo recording project. Since then he has branched out to many different areas and in essence has become a 1-man creative sound agency.

His first album Remarkable Engines was released to acclaim via Loop recordings in 2005. That same year, Jeramiah joined Fly My Pretties, playing sell-out shows throughout New Zealand as part of their Return Of... tour, which was recorded live and released as an album. During this time, Module also toured extensively performing at many major festivals in NZ, Australia and Spain playing hundreds of live shows using an interactive setup with computers and synthesizers.

In 2008 he was approached to create custom music for PS3 game Gripshift - a task which led him down the path of scoring soundtracks and sound design for a range of other video games including the PS3 game Shatter for which he won a range of awards and accolades for.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Module

Releases

Progamma!
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Imagineering
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Remarkable Engines
Year: 2005
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem