4 Sep 2015
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Illuminus - Until The End Album Review

06 Feb 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

Every now and then an album comes along that surprises with its’ fresh sound and bold song writing. 

Illuminus’ debut album, Until The End, has been the first such surprise of 2012.  The band, led by Aidan Dickens, combine elements not usually found together in rock music to craft an interesting sound that engages you from the get go.

Instead of focussing on pounding rhythms, show off guitar riffs and in your face vocals, Illuminus blend pianos, electronic elements and more.  The resulting sound means that no one member of the band, or instrument, ever feels like they take centre stage so there’s no detracting from the overall sound.

Having seen the band described as heavy rock/metal I was expecting something different to what I got – sure there’s heavy moments, like on Berated, which starts off sounding a little like 90’s Irish rock outfit Therapy? before unleashing some doomy sounding riffs, then pulling it back to a more mellow sound.  But overall the sound is quite mellow, with plenty of ballad-like moments; despite the doomy spin put on it there’s a positivity to the sound that’s refreshing to hear.

My only problem with the album was with the mix, which occasionally leaves some of the instruments sounding muddy, although that’s possibly due to the MP3 download, rather than the production.  Other than that small issue, Until The End is a professional debut from a band that should win fans with their unique sound.

Until The End
View Track Listing

About Illuminus

Illuminus is a alternative rock band from Auckland, New Zealand. Conceived and created in Melbourne, Australia in early 2010 by Aidan and Milla Dickens and joined by Jon Farquharson on bass when they moved home to New Zealand, Illuminus’ sound combines elements of alternative and progressive rock/metal sounds with strings, keyboards and Milla’s impressive vocals.

Illuminus’ sound is bold and aggressive, bursting with ambience, texture and dynamics. With lyrical themes that touch on darkness and depression, enlightenment and new beginnings, Illuminus take you on a journey through the full spectrum of human emotion. ‘We felt there weren’t enough heavy rock groups (in New Zealand), let alone with female vocals,’ Aidan says of the idea for the group. ‘There was definitely a gap on the New Zealand scene for us to try and fill.’
Right now the team is putting the finishing touches on the EP, to be released in March this year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Illuminus

Releases

Fading By Degrees
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Until The End
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
The Lowest Fidelity - Love Is For Others Album Review
07 Mar 2014 // by Alistar3000
There are three assumptions you'll need to dispel before listening to Will Saunders and the Lowest Fidelity's latest release Love Is For Others. The first is that the Low Fidelity is a band (or at least that they're a band on the recording - there is a live band); Will performs as a solo artist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CAN'T FEEL MY FACE
    The Weeknd
  • HOW DEEP IS YOUR LOVE?
    Calvin Harris And Disciples
  • LIKE I'M GONNA LOSE YOU
    Meghan Trainor feat. John Legend
  • STOLE THE SHOW
    Kygo feat. Parson James
  • LEAN ON
    Major Lazer feat. M0 And DJ Snake
  • DESSERT
    Dawin
  • LOCKED AWAY
    R.City feat. Adam Levine
  • OMEN
    Disclosure feat. Sam Smith
  • ARE YOU WITH ME
    Lost Frequencies
  • WHERE ARE U NOW?
    Skrillex And Diplo feat. Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem