17 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Spartacus R - The View Album Review

20 Dec 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

With their second album, The View, Wellington 6-piece Spartacus R prove that it’s quality, not quantity that matters.  In 6 years together they’ve released a couple of EP’s, their debut album (When The Fever Takes Hold) in 2009 and toured a handful of times.

It’s understandable that they find so little time to perform and record together, with half the band being professional musicians involved in some hard working bands – The Nudge, Fly MY Pretties, The Rhythm Hawks and Jessie James and The Outlaws are just some of the groups these hard working musicians also belong to.

Spartacus R’s sound will be familiar to anyone who’s come across those other bands before, as it draws on the same bluesy rock and folk influences, with a healthy dose of psychedelia thrown in to keep listeners on their toes.  

And keep you on your toes is what it does, with songs constantly morphing, exploring musical tangents and never seeming to follow convention.  There’s a retro feel to many of the songs (a definite Doors feel in particular on several songs), but it never sounds like a rehash of the bands' influences, which is credit to the combined talents of the musicians.

It’s that aspect of the music that elevates it above other blues-based rock – just when you think you’ve got a song pegged, Spartacus R will change direction, but they always keeping you smiling at their musical sleight of hand – they don’t rub their musicianship in your face, instead making you feel as though you’re in on it too.

The View is a musical journey, with each song taking you a little deeper into Spartacus R’s world; it’s a journey definitely worth taking.

About Spartacus R

Wellington-based psychedelic-progressive-rock six-piece, Spartacus R are more of a musical force than a band. Connoisseurs of fine instruments and life long friends, they have relentless energy for crafting new music; at times raw and wild, other times achingly beautiful, and always uncompromised to its core.

Having refined their sound and gathered their beautiful gear for over six years now, Spartacus R have released two EPs, and two acclaimed albums (When The Fever Takes Hold, 2009 and The View, 2011) and toured the country on several outlandish musical journeys.

Featuring members from Fly My Pretties, The Nudge, Rhythm Hawks, Sons of Midas, Luke Buda Band, Jesse James and The Outlaws, Silenzio and the Swift and Raggamuffin Children.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Spartacus R

Releases

The View
Year: 2011
Type: Album
When The Fever Takes Hold
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem