19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Knights of the Dub Table - Way of the Dub Album Review

09 Dec 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

The Knights of the Dub Table attempt to live up to their name with their debut full length and for the most part they succeed.  They’re not quite at the head of that table yet, but they come close.

They’re clearly a well-rehearsed band, utilising live instrumentation to produce their summery sounds.  It’s a sound that draws on reggae influences but retains a distinctly New Zealand feel, although perhaps draws too heavily on Salmonella Dub’s better known works, Killervision in particular.

Fans of that style of dub/reggae will no doubt delight in this, adding it to their soundtrack for summer.  Those who are looking for something unique in their music may want to stay clear, as there’s little new on offer within these 10 tracks.  Each blends into the next, all following the same formula, without ever really exploring the genre or pushing any musical boundaries.

That’s not a fault of the band – experimentation hasn’t been a big part of the reggae scene within New Zealand, most artists preferring to ape the more commercial sounds of the popular groups in the genre, rather than forge their own identity.  That doesn’t tend to be a barrier to success here, and Knights of The Dub Table probably won’t find that it holds them back any. 

Still, it would have been nice to see them have some fun with the music, mix it up a bit and see what comes out.  Maybe with future releases they’ll feel freer to do that.

Way Of The Dub
View Track Listing

About Knights of the Dub Table

Knights of the DUB Table combine elements of Reggae, Drum‘n’Bass, Dubstep, Hip-Hop and Rock into their own fusion of Dub flavoured music with powerful high-energy performances that leave the crowds wanting more.

Since their inception during 2008, they have performed with some of New Zealand’s best-known Reggae/Dub acts Katchafire, dDub, Optimus Gryme, House of Shem and Cornerstone Roots as well as popular Australian Dub outfit, The Versionaries.

Hailing from Hamilton City the original four members Mr Samysam’son (vocals, guitar), Sir Cypher (bass), Sax’imus (MC, sax) and Synth’silion (keys, beats) first met in 2007 while studying music at the Waikato Institute of Technology. During 2008 they joined forces becoming Knights of the DUB Table, and began to craft their sound into something unique. In October 2008 they pulled in Tootz (trumpet) and Dr. Umm who was later replaced by Ridim’ix (drums).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Knights of the Dub Table

Releases

Dedication
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Way Of The Dub
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Tronic EP
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Sing It To Me Remix EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem