24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shotgun Alley Album Review

06 Nov 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

I wanted to like Shotgun Alley, I truly did.  Like any other band I felt they deserved a fair go.  I was willing look past the clichéd logo on the front, I could even forgive the macho posing photos on the back (it is supposedly a hard rock album after all), but I started to have misgivings about the time I opened up the lyric sheets and started reading.

“Hey sexy lady/I got something for you/You’ll wanna take your clothes off”.  Really?  How about “Hey all of you out there in Generation Rock/All the beautiful ladies/Well get up and don’t stop”? 

Despite all this I still managed to listen to the album.  I even listened to it right through.  Twice.  And I’ll tell you why.

It’s not bad music. Sure it’s a pastiche of 80’s glam rock/hair metal.  It’s Bon Jovi meets Poison, only with lyrics that appear to have been written by a 15 year old boy.  But the band can sure play.  They’re tight, they seem to work together well, and Mark Falcon (who has a name made for this sort of music) can sing, despite my initial fears. 

It’s hard to tell whether Shotgun Alley take themselves seriously; I’d hope not but I have a sneaky suspicion that this isn’t a joke band, but one who believes in what they’re doing here.  And that would be a shame, because when treated as a tribute to the 80’s this is a fun band.  If you look at it any other way it’s hard to see how they can keep it going.

So listen to Shotgun Alley, but listen to them for the skill of the musicians, for their entertainment value, but don’t expect too much in return.

Shotgun Alley
View Track Listing

About Shotgun Alley

Whether you call it hard rock, cock rock, melodic rock, pop-metal, glam or sleaze, Shotgun Alley can be named one of New Zealand's hottest rock bands to make their mark In the Kiwi Music Industry.

Shotgun Alley, formally known as Suicide Boulevard formed in late Janurary 2009 by Dave Wong and Scotty Rocker (the band's lead guitarist and drummer respectively). Summed up by Rocker "The name just reminded me of cowboy boots, girls, jack & rock n roll."

The band are based in Auckland, New Zealand and their intent is to reach not only a national, but global audience, with support from their new management, The Brat Agency.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shotgun Alley

Releases

Shotgun Alley
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem