24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Funkommunity - Chequered Thoughts Album Review

20 Oct 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

Funkommunity slightly misled me, or at least the funk part of their name did.  I was expecting something dripping with funk-ness, but instead found an album that was less funk and more soul.

Thatís not to say Isaac Aesili and Rachel Fraser donít deliver up the funk throughout their debut album Chequered Thoughts.  The tracks Yeah and Pass It On both fall pretty squarely into the funk basket, but I thought it worth warning you right up front so your ears donít get a surprise.

What your ears will find is 11 tracks that sound like the future of soul music in New Zealand. Isaac and Rachel are no strangers to the world of soul, having worked with Hollie Smith, Ladi6, Opensouls, Solaa, Recloose and more.

Those experiences show in the quality of the songwriting and the strength of their collective performances, with the music sitting perfectly alongside Rachelís sultry vocals; Isaac knows when to hold back to allow the focus to fall on the vocals, and when to fill the spaces between Ė Iíll take a punt and say itís his extensive work as a session musician thatís led to that sort of musicianís intuition.

Despite not finding all the funk I was looking for on Chequered Thoughts I did find plenty to enjoy and I have a feeling itís an album Iíll be coming back to a lot as we move into summer, as well as an album you'll probably all be hearing a lot more as the word spreads.

Chequered Thoughts
View Track Listing

About Funkommunity

"Funkommunity has a futuristically classic sound, with their distinctive blend of funky drum rhythms, soulful synthesizers and Fraser's sassy vocals." - Okayplayer

"My car runs on Funkommunity. Really digging it." - DJ Fitchie of Fat Freddy's Drop

"With two of my favorite musicians at the helm, Funkommunity have created a work of serious atmospheric funk, playing out the aurora australis" - Taay Ninh of Electric Wire Hustle

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Funkommunity

Releases

Chequered Thoughts
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that donít try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about Ď90s rock, and thatís not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years Iíd always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album Ė with that revelation I didnít know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it Ė it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought sheíd taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
Itís hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyoneís going to be keeping a record of how long theyíve been making their brand of funkified reggae, itíd be them. To celebrate the occasion theyíve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 Ė 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round theyíre working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If youíre not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) Ė what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that itíd been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. Iím not sure why itíd taken me so long to go back to Wellingtonís number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since theyíd never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music theyíve created on their new album Caverns; itís spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasnít sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if Iíd like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (Iím still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem