24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Rabble - Life's A Journey Album Review

25 Sep 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

As soon as you start listening to the Rabble it’s hard to not draw comparisons between a bunch of 90’s punk and ska bands; bands like Rancid, Good Riddance, Green Day and so on.  Their latest release Life's A Journey would easily sit amongst anything released by any of those bands; while there’s nothing distinctive about the music on the album, the songs are all well written and the recording is first class.

They’re clearly a band that has worked hard to hone and perfect their sound, even if it is a sound borrowed almost verbatim from their influences, and there’s a polish to the 17 songs on the album that is lacking in the songwriting of many bands in the punk arena.

The content of the songs tends to be political and social commentary, rants against everything from the NRA (Gunning For The NRA), to mainstream pop music (Can’t Relate To You).  With many songs featuring shout along choruses and upbeat verses I can see them becoming powerful live anthems, particularly if the live show is as polished as the recorded version.

Guest appearances by Al Barr of the Dropkick Murphys and Mark Civitarese of Unseen show the esteem the band must be held in by others in the scene, and are telling of the international quality of the album.

At 17 tracks the album felt a little long and drawn out, requiring a bit of effort to get through it in one sitting.  I would have preferred a slightly shorter album, but you can’t complain about value for money with Life's A Journey, and those who are into the Rabble's sound will probably still find themselves wishing for more.

Life's A Journey
View Track Listing

About The Rabble

“Musically, this New Zealand trio has talent coming out of every pore and have truly perfected their craft.” - MutinyZine

“…A sound that is the band’s own and it’s a formidable, tumultuous, pulsating Punk Rock beat that’s as addictive as it is enjoyable!” - Scannerzine

Like a banner of hope rising in the midst of a battalion of soldiers; The Rabble hit the scene - joining in the march of a new generation. With an onslaught of soulful Punk Rock, they paint a picture of spirit in the face of adversity - with tales of life, death, love and hate. The unrelenting trio, originating from Auckland City, New Zealand: dedicate their lives to bringing the enthusiasm back to Rock ‘n Roll - taking their anthemic, barbed-wire assault to the Northern Hemisphere this year. Forget the stereotypes - this is a band who’s sound is tearing down the barriers of commercial mediocrity!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Rabble

Releases

Life's A Journey
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The New Generation
Year: 2008
Type: Album
The Battle's Almost Over
Year: 2007
Type: Album
No Clue, No Future
Year: 2006
Type: Album
This Is Our Lives
Year: 2006
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem