13 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Mountaineater, Left or Right, Full Fucking Moon and Ryan Prebble @ Bar Bodega, Wellington - 16 September 2011

Mountaineater, Left or Right, Full Fucking Moon and Ryan Prebble @ Bar Bodega, Wellington - 16 September 2011

17 Sep 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

Dreads flew everywhere, onstage and in the crowd, when Left or Right playedMusic fans turning up to Wellington’s Bar Bodega on Friday night were lucky to be treated to a wide range of musical styles.

The Nudge’s Ryan Prebble kicked things off, playing solo for the night.  He played some songs by the Nudge, a couple of tracks I hadn’t heard before, and was full of banter for the dozen or so people who trickled in after (presumably) the rugby had finished, including an anti-littering message for us all (but especially smokers).  I’ve been enjoying the recent Nudge album, and thought they were great live (you can read my review of the album here and the live show here), so it was interesting to see a different spin put on familiar songs. 

Ryan’s got a great bluesy voice and his guitar playing last night reminded me a lot of Jimi Hendrix’s style of blues – a great, warm guitar sound, a bit of distortion and a rawness that gives the music an edginess.

Wellington psychedelic noisemakers Full Fucking Moon then treated us to a set of tribal drumbeats, reverbed out vocals and freaky synth sounds.  I saw this trio of shoeless vagabonds at Wellington’s Mighty Mighty about 6 months ago and couldn’t remember much about them (my fault, not theirs); all I took away was that they were pretty out there.

I’m glad I got a second chance to check them out; I was definitely impressed by their sound this time around. It’s pretty basic music, but it works for me. It was a great set, highlighted by the songs featuring Bek Coogan’s eerie vocals.

It’s was reggae’s turn next with Dunedin band Left or Right. The crowd suddenly seemed to swell when they appeared on stage and a sea of dreadlocks began dancing as one to the heavy tunes.  I’d heard their album before and was keen to see how that translated into a live setting.  I’m please to report back that the songs are great live; a blend of heavy rock and reggae grooves, with a bit of trumpet and melodica thrown into the mix.   Think Kora with more of a reggae, good time feel to it.

Their drummer, Metua Marama was impressive, smashing the drumkit to the point where it started to fall apart.He’s an awesome drummer and drives the energy of the band.  During their finale he was even on his feet as he played out the ending to the song.

As the dreadlocked masses drifted away Mountaineater came on and it was obvious from the excitementMountaineater are the sound of being eaten by a mountain. amongst those remaining in the crowd that they’ve built up a strong following here.  I’d heard a lot of buzz about this Dunedin trio, although hadn’t seen them before. I’d also been warned that they were loud and they certainly lived up to that reputation, with my ears still ringing today despite wearing some pretty heavy duty earplugs.

Don’t let the risk of hearing damage put you off seeing these guys though, you won’t be disappointed. Basically carrying on from where frontman Tristan Dingemans’ previous band, the legendary HDU, left off, they create a wall of rock driven by heavy bass riffs and pounding drums.  Standing in front of the stage is like being buried in an avalanche of sound; you can’t fight it, you just have to relax and let it take you wherever it’s going.

Mountaineater were definitely the highlight of the night, and I came away from the show feeling privileged to have been able to experience it – and I’ve been listening to the few tracks they’ve got on the internet all morning, definitely a sign of a memorable band.

About Mountaineater

"If you thought HDU were capable of wreaking sonic destruction, this trio will leave you gasping" - Real Groove, April 2009

When a new Dunedin three piece made their live debut near the end of 2008, one thing was obvious - for Tristan Dingemans, front man of the formidable band HDU, lightening had struck twice. This was no former glory with backing band situation; this was a band, which was instantly capable of creating its own moments of puretranscendency. In short, Dingemans has an excellent shit filter, and proved he wasn't gonna step out until he had something great. And ladies and gentleman, with Chris Livingston (drums) and Anaru Ngata (bass and guitar), that is Mountaineater.

Few bands manage to take the intangibility of experiencing a natural landscape and transform it into sound, but those that do are absolutely momentous. Yes, with this brooding and heavy mix of sonic landscapes and visceral, bludgeoning rock, you can't ignore the pedigree. Yet Mountaineater is a further step down the pathof tension filled catharsis, as immediately inviting as they are unrelenting.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mountaineater

Releases

Mountaineater
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem