17 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Red Eyes - Red Army Album Review

14 Aug 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

Traditionally reggae has had either religion or politics as its driving force, which is understandable when it’s viewed as an outlet for the oppressed people of Jamaica. Lately though, reggae has tended to be subverted by the middle class and has been churned out in an easy listening format, almost a reggae-lite, more commonly associated with BBQs, beaches and beers.

Melbourne’s The Red Eyes take us back to a time before the bastardisation of reggae with their latest album Red Army. This is reggae as it sounded in the Jamaican heyday of the early 80’s; warm tones, lots of reverb, and a (slight) revolutionary bent wrapped up in a professional package.

Frontman El Witeri brings a New Zealand flavour to the album, with an introduction in Maori and a song touching on the exploits of Riwha Titokowaru during New Zealand’s land wars.

There were moments on the album where I’d get confused between songs; there is a lot of similarity between some of the tracks, and at 15 songs long there’s a lot of them, but this is a problem common to a lot of reggae and shouldn’t detract from enjoyment of what is a pretty damn fine display of local (well, Australasian) reggae. 

So if you’re a fan of well made reggae and are looking for something a bit different check out Red Army and keep an eye out for the Red Eyes when they’re over our way.

About The Red Eyes

The Red Eyes, “Melbourne’s own Reggae Superstars”, have firmly established their position as one of Australia’s leading original Dub/Reggae acts. Known for their explosive live shows, the 7-piece combines masterful beats and shake the house dub rhythms with heartfelt lyrics that offer a unique antipodean spin on the broad Reggae genre. The band is led on stage by enigmatic front man El Witeri who draws on his Maori heritage for inspiration.

Recent release Red Army received critical acclaim including a nomination for Best Blues & Roots Album at the 2010 Australian Independent Record Label Awards and Album of the Week on PBS FM and Radio Australia. Building on their 9 year history and the success of previous full length release Rudeworld (2007) and EP’s Prolific/My Kingdom (2005) and Highplace (2004), The Red Eyes have enjoyed solid airplay in Australia, New Zealand, Asia, the Pacific Islands and Canada, collectively selling over 12,000 albums and EP’s worldwide.

Since their inception in 2002 The Red Eyes have toured widely in Australia, regularly playing at major festivals nationwide including Woodford Folk Festival, Pyramid Rock, Meredith, Peats Ridge, Bellingen Global Carnival, Great Escape Festival, St Kilda Festival, Raggamuffin, Earthcore and Island Vibe. International performances include Fest du Nord in New Caledonia, and forthcoming appearances at Fest Napuan in Vanuatu later in 2011 and a string of dates in NZ in Jan 2012 will see them further extend their pacific reach. They have supported or been billed alongside artists including Mary J Blige, Jimmy Cliff, Maxi Priest, Horace Andy, Luciano, The Mad Professor, Easy Star All Stars, Dub Syndicate, The Original Wailers, Salmonella Dub, The Black Seeds, Katchafire, Cornerstone Roots, Concord Dawn, Sola Rosa, Pitch Black and The Resin Dogs to name a few.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Red Eyes

Releases

Red Army
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem