19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Nudge @ San Francisco Bathhouse, Wellington, 5/08/2011

06 Aug 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

I've never seen a rabbit drum like this before.  Never.It’s watching a man in a bunny suit bash out a mean five minute drum solo that makes you remember why live music can be so much fun – it's the unpredictable nature of it; no two gigs are ever the same. But that’s the end of the night; let’s start at the beginning.

Having four musicians from various well known Wellington musical acts (the three members of The Nudge have performed in Fly My Pretties, Tropical Downbeat Orchestra, Newtown Rocksteady and Hikoikoi amongst others; Warren Maxwell, who opened for them has wowed audiences for the past decade in TrinityRoots, then the Little Bushmen) was always bound to draw a big crowd, but I don’t think anyone expected the turnout on Friday night.

The San Francisco Bathhouse, a large venue by bar standards, was packed out, with barely any room to move about, by the time Warren Maxwell dished out some of his soulful solo blues.

By the time he finished no one else was allowed in and there was a line 50 deep of hopeful punters outside.

It was the Nudge who were to be the stars of the night, as they turned the audience into a seething mass of flailingBears would normally eat chickens.  The power of music overridestheir primitive urges. arms (and stumbling drunks) over the next two hours. Their blend of blues and 60’s style funk is infectious and the energy and musicianship they exhibit are a winning combination. The animal costumes (Ryan Prebble plays guitar in a chicken costume, James Coyle works the keys as a bear, and Iraia Whakamore is their dancing rabbit drummer) and homemade pies add to the atmosphere, and although a little gimmicky at times, remind us that music should be fun, and that successful musicians shouldn’t take themselves to seriously.   

It was Iraia’s drumming that stole the show for me – his high energy levels, manic dancing in the middle of songs and downright funkiness, and of course that solo, just blew me away. 

They didn’t keep up the energy the whole night; a couple of slower, dirty blues jams drew the energy down a bit about halfway through, then again towards the end, but it did allow the crowd and band a well deserved breather, before ramping it up again.

Two hours is a long, long set these days and we definitely got our $15 worth of music from the Nudge last night.

About The Nudge

The Nudge are a fresh form of innovative blues.

As a trio, they are all individually inspired by multi genres of music that help to form a complex sound often termed as psychedelic swampy blues with an element of party. The songs have been loosely based around singer Ryan Prebble's style of writing, but as a band they interweave their ideas to create a thick organic sound with unique forms due to their very different musical backgrounds. One thing that is however certain, this is music for the soul and the feet!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Nudge

Releases

Big Nudge Pie
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem