24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Paperscissors @ Bar Bodega, Wellington, 8/07/2011

10 Jul 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

I missed seeing Paperscissors perform recently with The Checks, a slip up on my part that, having now seen them play, I regret. For Paperscissors rock (I couldn’t resist…), and they do it well.  But before we could see Paperscissors there was the matter of their “special guests”, who turned out to be a singular “guest”.Paperscissors moving the crowd at Bar Bodega

It takes a brave man to perform his own original material solo in front of a half-full, half-drunk, crowd who are really there for one reason only – to see Paperscissors and dance their asses off. But Sven Adam put in a strong effort and managed to get people moving with his acoustic tunes, belted out with real feeling. His cover of Stevie Wonders’ Higher Ground was superb and showed his voice and arrangement off well. Perhaps not the best setting for his music, he persevered and did himself proud.

As soon as Paperscissors took the stage it was obvious who people were there to see. As Chris Jamieson thumped out a few beats on the bass drum the reverberations drew the punters in like moths to a flame. Suddenly a scattering of people turned into an almost full dance floor and soon the crowd was moving energetically as this new duo belted out track after track of funky blues rock, in the same vein as the Black Keys or White Stripes. A lull as a slower new song was performed halfway through the set allowed the crowd to take a breather and gather their wits before the pace picked up again.

Performing several high profile gigs, including with John Spencer Blues Explosion, The Checks and Helmet, in the 7 months they’ve been together has obviously pushed them to perform at their best in a very short space of time – this is a polished act, with great stage presence together and they feed of each other’s energy well.

Despite some technical difficulties, including having a drunken fan upend a monitor while clambering around on stage, Paperscissors soldiered on, even returning for two encores at the demand of a room full of happy fans.

The only suggestion I’d have for the band is that, with comparisons so readily drawn with the Black Keys, closing with a Black Keys cover is going to emphasise those comparisons and perhaps serve as a hindrance in the development of their own unique sound. At the same time, it was a great song to cover and they did a fantastic job of it, but their own sound is strong enough to not need to resort to covers.

About Paperscissors

Paperscissors are a two-piece Blues-Rock duo from Wellington. They consist of Chris Jamieson on Drums, and Seamus Johnson on Guitar and Vocals. They take a lot of inspiration from such acts as The Black Keys, The White Stripes, and The Raconteurs, but with their our own flair. they formed in January on the back of previous successful bands and so far have been busy with recording and gigs throughout the city. They have been fortunate enough to open for bands as The John Spencer Blues Explosion, The Checks, Kids 0f 88, Computers want me dead and Helmet, plus their our own shows which have been very successful. Their first single “Sirens” has been successful and a real crowd pleaser, it has featured on local radio stations and has been listened to quite extensively around the world on the website soundcloud.com. They are also fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to record in the Red Bull studios up in Auckland, which will be happening in the coming months. They have a lot planned coming up including more gigs, recording our second single and EP and a possible tour in the midst.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Paperscissors

Releases

There are no releases to display for Paperscissors.

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem