24 Apr 2014
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sleepin Brains - All I Want, Lights Out, Rock & Road Single(s) Reviews

15 May 2011 // A review by CEOMong

Very 80s/90s somehow tastes of DragonForce, Lordi and even Motley Crue in some riffs – they’re somehow hair metallie, yet on the radio side of alternative rock, somewhere.

All I Want

Slow, tweaky intro. A real late 80s/early 90s feel on this one for me – the almost choral choruses and regular rhythm perhaps. A bit slow and deliberate for my taste – I don’t hate it, maybe ‘cause I like 80s/90s hair metal.

Lights Out

Nice hookie intro, and mean gax breaks. I like the quicker pace on this one, and there’s a bit more depth in this track which is good. Choice hookie gax, varied vox – wicked tweakie bits and intense keyboards backing the chorus. Favourite of the three, without a doubt.

Rock & Road

Solid riff to open – not too heavy but rocky enough to hook me in ... tasty headbanging bits here and there. Nice transitions between verse and chorus – enough to ‘see’ them coming as it were and get your head-banging stance together. More tweaky vox, very nice.

Screamin in the dark,
CEOMong

Share on MySpace  

About Sleepin Brains

In Febraury 2004 the Iglesias brothers, Willy y Tommy, decided to form a Hard Rock band called Sleepin´Brains, a named that, ironically, was dreamt by Tommy. The two started recording their first songs in their bedrooms with almost no resources and a crappy sound amplifier. The search for band members that would join their quest had started, so they got in touch with Pilver, an old friend and drummer from their arcade childhood, who jump right into the proposed project. The live shows began.

The debut was at “La Colorada” on Septiember 3rd 2004, a significant show that fullfilled all expectations and had the great success of sold out tickets. Due to personal reasons, the drummer and friend Pilver decided to take a different path, and the band started searching for a replacement immediately to continue with the proyect.

A summer night of 2005 Sleepin’ Brains was a the bar El Escandinavo discussing their future sorrounded by cigarratte smoke and cold brews, when they met Gonzalo García Muñoz, “Gonzo”, the new drummer… After long rehearsals, they performed live shows on several ocassions and on full throttle on October 28th 2005 at Speed King, making the official announcement that Gonzo was the new member. In febraury 2006, with the new formation, they completed the recording of what first started as a dream at the studio Fuera del tunel. Right after, the lead voice and guitar player Willy Iglesias moved to the U.S. tomporarly, and the band was put on hold untill Agost that year. Live presentations where paused, the composition and recording of their second LP, Fun Fair Street, started at La Nave de Oseberg Studios. This new record was to include 10 new tracks fully compose by the Iglesias brothers, of which Killin’ Love, Fun Fair Street & Bad Girl stood out. After hard work, the band went back to the road and started playing live again, making their comeback in December 15, at Planet Music. This show was then follwed by their first tour on the Argentinian coast, playing with bands like Renacer, Horcas y Todos Tus Muertos. After the tour dates the band continued showing up live with big artists, such as Paul Di’ Anno (ex Iron – Maiden), Almafuerte and finally opening the Metal Fest 2008 at Estadio Pepsi Music (Ex- Obras).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sleepin Brains

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sleepin Brains.

Other Reviews By CEOMong

Red Dawn - Ironhead Album Review
15 Dec 2013 // by CEOMong
Mint cover art of a multiple-eyed hellspawn straddling some hellbilly chopper – I want one! Heavy basslines and a real classic british heavy metal feel in the hooks and audible vox – deep bass, mint segues and solos – and then when you think you’ve got it figured out there’s a facemelting sonic solo dropping back into spineshredding rhythms – all overlaid with some intense vocals, at times almost sepulchural, at others almost martial ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
The House Of Capricorn - In The Devil's Days Album Review
28 Nov 2011 // by CEOMong
At first I didn’t know what to say about the newest offering from the cloven hoofed ones, but the more I listen the more I have to say. I really like it, I’m not 100% sure why, there’s lots to like but nothing I can nail down ...
Read More...
Akaname Album Review
01 Nov 2011 // by CEOMong
I must say it's rather refreshing to hear an album like this, some real inventive action, and not a single word spoken by a vocalist. Amazing.
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLURRED LINES
    Robin Thicke feat. TI And Pharrell
  • ROYALS
    Lorde
  • JUST GIVE ME A REASON
    Pink feat. Nate Ruess
  • ROAR
    Katy Perry
  • IMPOSSIBLE
    James Arthur
  • LET HER GO
    Passenger
  • RADIOACTIVE
    Imagine Dragons
  • WAKE ME UP
    Avicii
  • GET LUCKY
    Daft Punk feat. Pharrell
  • WHEN I WAS YOUR MAN
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem