31 Aug 2016
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beastwars Album Review

12 May 2011 // A review by terry666

Beastwars Self-titled album

ĎBeastwarsí have been around for some time and seem to be one of the bands I always miss seeing for some odd reason which guts me. They have been playing the Wellington scene with local Heavy metal bands like Razorwyre and Elephant of the Ocean and also played with some bigger names like High on Fire , The Melvinís and the upcoming Kyuss shows. These guys motto is to obey the riff and are very much a guitar based band and they pull no punches just bringing a very strong heavy album.

The cover art alone is one of the first reasons to buy this album because itís awesome and the opening track Damn The Sky rips you straight into their world. With a grunge sound that reminds me of some early Nirvana with a more Metal edge it soon slips into a more stoner metal sound and dirge which takes the mind. Lake of Fire starts with some very heavy bass sounds reminding you again of Nirvana's style grunge with almost an Alice n Chains edge. Some of their guitar is very Gothic doom inspired almost calling to mind Type o Negative. Mihi slowly slides under your skin before an almost Soundgarden inspired riff takes you away.

Daggers is a song which carries on with an almost swinging style. There are heaps of nice meaty riffs with lots of Tom Morello type guitar. Call out the Dead is a nice slow grinder as Matt Hyde growls at you like a demon. There are some nice explosive guitar bits at the end of this one. Red God opens with a riff sounding like something Megadeth would love to have written. Iron Wolfís guitar sounds like something from Danzig with some more Alice n Chains flavour very cool track. Cthulhu also reminds me of Danzig, a nice slow dirge building up into a doom laden stomp.

The pace is picked up for the final track of the album Empire. This song brings to mind the band Down with a bluesy solo near the end.

This is a very cool album which seems to be inspired by later 80's and early 90ís Metal and Grunge. Guitar styles leaning very much to bands like Soundgarden, Nirvana, Rage Against The Machine and Kyuss. Stoner metal is a tribute to some these bands and these guys have a far more cohesive sound than some of the bands in this genre. Big powerful riffs these guys deliver in their own style. This is a monster of an album and well worth hunting out the Vinyl version of it.

This is a must have NZ Metal album and I canít wait to see what these guys bring forth next. Be sure to see these guys out on tour when they hit a town near you and Buy the album.

Beastwars
View Track Listing

About Beastwars

New Zealand sludge metal four-piece Beastwars abide by one steadfast maxim: Obey the Riff. Described as "a mongrel mix of Kyuss, Neurosis, and the mighty Godflesh..." (NZ Herald) and playing "heavy tunes for heavy times" (ALARM), the Wellington-based sonic soothsayers utilize the chaos that engulfs our world as ammunition for their defiant howls into the abyss.

Two years on from their internationally acclaimed, self-titled debut, Beastwars return on 20 April 2013 with Blood Becomes Fire. The new album serves witness to the end of days, told through the eyes of a dying traveler from another time. It is a work inspired by eternal themes. "It's a reflection on mortality, death and disease. Sooner or later they come for all of us and we've all screamed to the gods for answers, not that they've ever come."

On Blood Becomes Fire Beastwars hammer the story home with concussive force. "Itís a heavy album, both sonically and lyrically, but what solidifies it are the really triumphant 'fuck yeah' riffs. To us, this music is like getting psyched up to go into battle. You could be at war with someone else or yourself.Ē

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beastwars

Releases

The Death Of All Things
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Blood Becomes Fire
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Beastwars
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Album Review: Pills For Breakfast
17 Apr 2016 // by terry666
Pills For Breakfast have been around since 2012 and this is their first full album. The band consists of two core members Neil Johns and Chris Thorpe but also enlist other musicians to appear throughout as guest musicians.
Read More...
Gig Review: Helgorithms @ The Royal, Palmerston North - 14/11/15
23 Dec 2015 // by terry666
The only support band I got to see was Porcelain and to be honest I was not that impressed with them. Although technically they were good, they lacked the energy and x factor so to speak in my opinion.
Read More...
In Dread Response - Album Review: Heavenshore
12 Oct 2015 // by terry666
Heavenshore is In Dread Response's third full length release in their 10 year history and the first for their new singer Ben Read. In the ten years since this band formed a lot of the members have been involved in other projects.
Read More...
Antagonist A.D. - Album Review: Haunt Me As I Roam
15 Apr 2015 // by terry666
I donít know why I havenít listened to this band before, but from the opening track I was hooked. I had seen them in magazines and on websites for years but unfortunately not taken enough notice.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 7 & 8 March 2015
23 Mar 2015 // by terry666
Around the start of November I look forward to the announcement of my favourite summer festival of all that is great about New Zealand music. I start off by looking to see what Rock acts are playing and then look to see if my favourite non rock band Kora is playing.
Read More...
Thy Assassin - Album Review: A World Left Behind
25 Feb 2015 // by terry666
Melodic death core is how this band describes their music and they do a damn fine job at it. Coming from Hamilton these guys are fairly new on the scene but with production and content that is at the level of bands many years ahead of them.
Read More...
The Symphony of Screams - Album Review: Live & Unplugged
22 Jan 2015 // by terry666
The Symphony of Screams has been around for a fair while now and the first time I personally came across them was at Rock to Wellington back in 2008. That was a huge show with a line-up that put them in front of a plethora of metal and hard rock stars that would have been any 80ís teenagerís wet dream.
Read More...
Malevolence - Relentless Entropy Album Review
30 Aug 2014 // by terry666
New Zealand metal is continually getting more and more recognition and more and more respect nationally and internationally because of the quality of the product we are producing. We have a long history with a growing number of bands bringing out material on regular basis.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CLOSER
    The Chainsmokers feat. Halsey
  • COLD WATER
    Major Lazer feat. Justin Bieber And M0
  • LET ME LOVE YOU
    DJ Snake feat. Justin Bieber
  • HEATHENS
    Twenty One Pilots
  • DON'T WORRY BOUT IT
    Kings
  • ONE DANCE
    Drake feat. Wizkid And Kyla
  • SUCKER FOR PAIN
    Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa And Imagine Dragons
  • THIS IS WHAT YOU CAME FOR
    Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna
  • TOO GOOD
    Drake feat. Rihanna
  • PERFECT STRANGERS
    Jonas Blue feat. JP Cooper
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem