20 Sep 2014
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beastwars Album Review

12 May 2011 // A review by terry666

Beastwars Self-titled album

ĎBeastwarsí have been around for some time and seem to be one of the bands I always miss seeing for some odd reason which guts me. They have been playing the Wellington scene with local Heavy metal bands like Razorwyre and Elephant of the Ocean and also played with some bigger names like High on Fire , The Melvinís and the upcoming Kyuss shows. These guys motto is to obey the riff and are very much a guitar based band and they pull no punches just bringing a very strong heavy album.

The cover art alone is one of the first reasons to buy this album because itís awesome and the opening track Damn The Sky rips you straight into their world. With a grunge sound that reminds me of some early Nirvana with a more Metal edge it soon slips into a more stoner metal sound and dirge which takes the mind. Lake of Fire starts with some very heavy bass sounds reminding you again of Nirvana's style grunge with almost an Alice n Chains edge. Some of their guitar is very Gothic doom inspired almost calling to mind Type o Negative. Mihi slowly slides under your skin before an almost Soundgarden inspired riff takes you away.

Daggers is a song which carries on with an almost swinging style. There are heaps of nice meaty riffs with lots of Tom Morello type guitar. Call out the Dead is a nice slow grinder as Matt Hyde growls at you like a demon. There are some nice explosive guitar bits at the end of this one. Red God opens with a riff sounding like something Megadeth would love to have written. Iron Wolfís guitar sounds like something from Danzig with some more Alice n Chains flavour very cool track. Cthulhu also reminds me of Danzig, a nice slow dirge building up into a doom laden stomp.

The pace is picked up for the final track of the album Empire. This song brings to mind the band Down with a bluesy solo near the end.

This is a very cool album which seems to be inspired by later 80's and early 90ís Metal and Grunge. Guitar styles leaning very much to bands like Soundgarden, Nirvana, Rage Against The Machine and Kyuss. Stoner metal is a tribute to some these bands and these guys have a far more cohesive sound than some of the bands in this genre. Big powerful riffs these guys deliver in their own style. This is a monster of an album and well worth hunting out the Vinyl version of it.

This is a must have NZ Metal album and I canít wait to see what these guys bring forth next. Be sure to see these guys out on tour when they hit a town near you and Buy the album.

Beastwars
View Track Listing
Share on MySpace  

About Beastwars

New Zealand sludge metal four-piece Beastwars abide by one steadfast maxim: Obey the Riff. Described as "a mongrel mix of Kyuss, Neurosis, and the mighty Godflesh..." (NZ Herald) and playing "heavy tunes for heavy times" (ALARM), the Wellington-based sonic soothsayers utilize the chaos that engulfs our world as ammunition for their defiant howls into the abyss.

Two years on from their internationally acclaimed, self-titled debut, Beastwars return on 20 April 2013 with Blood Becomes Fire. The new album serves witness to the end of days, told through the eyes of a dying traveler from another time. It is a work inspired by eternal themes. "It's a reflection on mortality, death and disease. Sooner or later they come for all of us and we've all screamed to the gods for answers, not that they've ever come."

On Blood Becomes Fire Beastwars hammer the story home with concussive force. "Itís a heavy album, both sonically and lyrically, but what solidifies it are the really triumphant 'fuck yeah' riffs. To us, this music is like getting psyched up to go into battle. You could be at war with someone else or yourself.Ē

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beastwars

Releases

Blood Becomes Fire
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Beastwars
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Malevolence - Relentless Entropy Album Review
30 Aug 2014 // by terry666
New Zealand metal is continually getting more and more recognition and more and more respect nationally and internationally because of the quality of the product we are producing. We have a long history with a growing number of bands bringing out material on regular basis.
Read More...
Jim Beam Homegrown 2014 Highlights
03 Mar 2014 // by terry666
Jim Beam Homegrown February 15th, Wellington Waterfront I love Homegrown. Where else can you get to see such a brilliant array of New Zealandís finest musical talent?
Read More...
Fallen Order - The Age of Kings EP Review
27 Feb 2014 // by terry666
From the opening stanza this EP takes off like a bullet. Classic British metal in sound the first bands that come to mind are Iron Maiden and Judas Priest.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2014 Review
31 Jan 2014 // by terry666
Big Day Out 2014 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 17/01/2014 It was with some trepidation I headed to Western Springs to check out the new venue for the Big Day Out 2014. I have been to about 6 previous Big Day Out's and Western Springs is a quite a different venue than Mt Smart.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ James Cabaret, Wellington - 10/10/13
27 Oct 2013 // by terry666
Blacklistt, as most will know were known previously as Blindspott. I have seen Blindspott heaps of times around the country and always loved their show.
Read More...
8 Foot Sativa @ Stellar, Wanganui - 4/10/13
25 Oct 2013 // by terry666
I have been extremely lucky and seen 8 Foot Sativa lots of time in the last year in the build up to the release of the new album The Shadow Masters. I was very excited about heading over to Wanganui to see the guys play.
Read More...
Blacklistt Album Review
14 Oct 2013 // by terry666
There are two Kiwi albums that I have been waiting for this year with baited breath. The first one was The Shadow Masters from 8 Foot Sativa and this one from Blacklistt.
Read More...
Prowler - Enter The Night Album Review
19 Sep 2013 // by terry666
I donít know a hell of a lot about punk rock music as Iím more of a metal head than anything else but one of the things that I do like about a good punk rock band is the energy that they have. Prowler are full of energy and the album kicks off with the title track Enter The Night that sets the pace up perfectly.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLURRED LINES
    Robin Thicke feat. TI And Pharrell
  • ROYALS
    Lorde
  • JUST GIVE ME A REASON
    Pink feat. Nate Ruess
  • ROAR
    Katy Perry
  • IMPOSSIBLE
    James Arthur
  • LET HER GO
    Passenger
  • RADIOACTIVE
    Imagine Dragons
  • WAKE ME UP
    Avicii
  • GET LUCKY
    Daft Punk feat. Pharrell
  • WHEN I WAS YOUR MAN
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem