12 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Let The People Speak Compilation album 2010

12 Dec 2010 // A review by terry666

Let the people speak Compilation album 2010

Let the people speak is a compilation of Kiwi artists from all different genres.

The album opens with a track from indie rockers Artisan Guns with the rockier of their two featured songs there slower side being shown later with the track 'Autumn'.

Midnight Youth have two tracks on here 'Just For Once' and 'All On Our Own' and what great tracks they are. Iím a big fan of these guys and canít wait for a new release from them.

Steriogram feature on here with two tracks the classic 'Walkie Talkie Man' and the new track 'Moving On' and each showcases the bands wit and style. I really love 'Moving On' and canít wait to see these guys when they play down here over summer they give us another reason to love kiwi rock.

For the Pop Rock fans Dane Rumble has the songs 'Everything' and 'Cruel'. Personally I much prefer 'Everything' but 'Cruel' still has a great summer pop flavour. Heís come a long way since Fast Crew with a far more mature sound and production.

Girl rockers Ivy Lies have 'Addicted' on here and the softer number 'I Lie Awake' very much sounding like something Avril Lavigne would write.

Jonny Loveís track 'Not The First (Not The Last)' is the second of his two tracks showing his mellow side while his first track on here is a little more rockier track called 'Weight of Tomorrow'.

I love 'Problematic' from Pistol Youth it reminds me very much of the Australian band Thirsty Merc I was disappointed there was only one track from these guys.

Soljah add a completely different sound to this compilation by being a reggae band and definitely have plenty of Funk and Soul. Thanks to bands like Kora and Katchafire the eyes are being for more Kiwis to local reggae bands.

Nathan Haines brings his Jazz and Soul flavours to the track 'Pathway' showcasing this manís immense talent.  After seven albums and many other collaborations this track shows why he is one of our hidden treasures. 'Pathway' almost sounds like a Simply Red track very smooth sounding.

Autozammís 'Breathe' is the rockier of their two tracks before their other track 'Closer' to home both which have featured quite well on the kiwi charts.

Lisa Crawley has two very soulful songs on here both very mellow but quite catchy.

Kirsten Morrellís who was last seen in the band Goldenhorse has a song 'Maybe Tomorrow' on here and shows some of why Goldenhorse were so popular.

This compilation is mainly Pop rock orientated but shows some of our other sides to our kiwi flavour. It would be a great summer beach and bbq album catering for most tastes and having an upbeat feel to it. Some awesome Kiwi talents here makes you realise you need to go back to the record store for more tracks from these bands. Samplers are such a tease and such a pleasure.

Other Reviews By terry666

Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by terry666
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by terry666
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
Gig Review: Gorguts and Marduk @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/03/17
20 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Ben from Valhalla has been busy in Wellington for the last few years fulfilling metal heads dreams with the high calibre of acts he has preforming at his venue. I have seen quite a few of my heroes perform there and tonight was another such night.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - EP Review: Vestige
09 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Vestige is the second EP from Hamilton based Metal band Seas of Conflict. These guys are not new to the scene, having been around since 2011, and have been consistently releasing material independently while still in high school through till now.
Read More...
EP Review: Ignite the Helix
21 Dec 2016 // by terry666
This 4 track EP opens with the track Blur The Line which in my mind to an extent describes the song perfectly in that it cannot really be genre cast. Grunting growly grinding goodness.
Read More...
Album Review: Pills For Breakfast
17 Apr 2016 // by terry666
Pills For Breakfast have been around since 2012 and this is their first full album. The band consists of two core members Neil Johns and Chris Thorpe but also enlist other musicians to appear throughout as guest musicians.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem