18 Apr 2014
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review

13 Oct 2010 // A review by Bela

So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.

For me this album has a classic Kiwi live music vibe. It brought back memories of late nights at the Stomach in good old Palmy North listening to live bands from all over NZ, talented musicians and the people that loved the music on offer.

The more the album goes the better the songs get. The first song that really grabbed me is track 3 'You're On My Mind'. It's toe tapping and easy to remember. Other album favourites are 'No Oil' - love the bass track in this, 'I Tried', 'Are You There' and 'Human'. The singer's vocals aren't the strongest, but as far as the overall songs go - this works.

There are many successful bands recording now that don't have singers with perfect vocals, because perfect can be boring, particularly for the sounds that Surf Friends offer. Interesting is much more appealing. The title track 'Confusion' finishes up the album nicely.

The more I listen to the album the more it takes me back to those days of live music and good times, and I am really disappointed I didn't manage to see them play live. I am sure it would have been a night to remember.

Confusion
View Track Listing
Share on MySpace  

About Surf Friends

Surf Friends are a new indie band drawing from the influences of Flying Nun bands such as The Clean. This Auckland three piece will make anyone into that sound happy, looped tracks background synth and harmonica along with guitar bass and drums create a very large sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Surf Friends

Releases

Surf Friends
Year: ????
Type: EP
I Tried
Year: ????
Type: EP
You're On My Mind
Year: ????
Type: EP
Human
Year: ????
Type: EP
Endorphins
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Confusion
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review
12 Sep 2010 // by Bela
With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.
Read More...
I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review
05 Jul 2010 // by Bela
I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.
Read More...
The Skitz - The Grove St Tapes EP Review
23 May 2010 // by Bela
I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4.
Read More...
Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review
16 Mar 2010 // by Bela
This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.
Read More...
Green Like Go - self titled EP review
23 Feb 2010 // by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09
15 Dec 2009 // by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me. It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLURRED LINES
    Robin Thicke feat. TI And Pharrell
  • ROYALS
    Lorde
  • JUST GIVE ME A REASON
    Pink feat. Nate Ruess
  • ROAR
    Katy Perry
  • IMPOSSIBLE
    James Arthur
  • LET HER GO
    Passenger
  • RADIOACTIVE
    Imagine Dragons
  • WAKE ME UP
    Avicii
  • GET LUCKY
    Daft Punk feat. Pharrell
  • WHEN I WAS YOUR MAN
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem