28 Nov 2014
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review

03 May 2010 // A review by BrendaF

This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre.

While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular. You could feel the dedication to the music.

Track 1 'Where's The Time?' and Track 2 'Not Thinking Of You' had hints of big band swing and I enjoyed the saxophone element, while the three remaining tracks were more mellow and slower, bringing a more rich and deeper sound.

That being said, there was no real stand out track for me. Track 4 "Forever" did have me thinking of elevator music in the instrumental segments (not in a bad way though).

The album was overall very easy listening and well put together. A little more vocal coaching and Joanne would become a great soul singer.

About Joanne Chester

Joanne's musical roots can be traced back to the tender age of one-and-a-half when her mother forced her to sing songs such as 'Insy Winsy Spider'¯ and 'The Wheels on the Bus'¯before she could actually talk. Never-the-less, the pre-school music class was thoroughly impressed with her pre-lingual talents and so the paparazzi dodging began.

Throughout her primary years Joanne didn't miss an opportunity to learn an instrument and by the age of 12, was a master at violin, recorder, piano, clarinet, trumpet and pacman. At High School, Joanne spent more time in the music department than she spent sleeping, eating and hunting put together (not that she ever went hunting). She immersed herself in every musical group she could and started her guitar career by learning some highly complex jazz chords like D, Am and G. She played trumpet in the world famous Northcote College Jazz Band and as part of that experience, got opportunities to travel to the Manly Jazz Festival in Sydney as well as the Monterey Jazz Festival in California.

In addition to loving instrumental music, Joanne's desire to sing continued to grow. She left school at age 18 to pursue a Bachelor of Music Education, where she fronted bands such as 'The Music Education Band'¯ and other such bands with no names. At uni, she also had the revelation that she still couldn't play enough instruments so jumped at the opportunity to study jazz bass intensively for a year. She also took her guitar playing to a new level playing maestro chords such as Dsus and Am7 and G7.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Joanne Chester

Releases

Where's The Time?
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Where's The Time
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FREAKS
    Timmy Trumpet And Savage
  • DO THEY KNOW IT'S CHRISTMAS?
    Band Aid 30
  • BLANK SPACE
    Taylor Swift
  • THINKING OUT LOUD
    Ed Sheeran
  • SPECIAL
    Six60
  • YELLOW FLICKER BEAT
    Lorde
  • NEW THANG
    Redfoo
  • SHAKE IT OFF
    Taylor Swift
  • ALL ABOUT THAT BASS
    Meghan Trainor
  • STEAL MY GIRL
    One Direction
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem